What’s New, Cupcake?

Have you seen this book?


No? You should. It’s chuck full of completely awesome cupcakes, and a real lifesaver sometimes.

Like when your sister tells you that they’ll be celebrating your daughter’s December birthday at preschool the next day, since they were on Christmas vacation at the time, and could you please send a treat for the kids?

Yeah.

So, at ten o’clock on Monday night, I started baking. And, since I knew I would be the one ‘stuck’ eating the leftovers, I baked good stuff. Lemon Buttermilk cupcakes, with Lemon Cream Cheese frosting… YUM!

(I went ahead and did mini cupcakes, since these are three and four year old kids. No gluttony here, folks.)

So, Tuesday morning, here’s what we did:


Step 1: Snip mini marshmallows in half, on the diagonal. (I used scissors.) Drop the cut marshmallows in colored sugar and roll them around, and the sugar will adhere to the sticky innards of the marshmallow. (Now THAT is a sentence I never anticipated myself typing!)

Step 2: Make pretty piles of all the colors, but keep them away from your kids. If you must, distract them with the whole, uncut marshmallows; no sense in making more work for yourself!


Step 3: Frost your cupcakes. I like to use a bag with a large round tip; I find it quicker, easier, and neater, but you can certainly frost them with a spatula or butter knife. I won’t tell.

Step 4: Start your layering. Do a full row around the outside, pressing the marshmallows into the frosting. Since they’re so light, they can hang over the edge of the cupcakes quite a bit.

Step 5: I added a bit more frosting, so that my flower cupcakes would be really full and puffy. (Yeah, that’s the technical term.) Add a few more of your marshmallow petals. I used nine or ten petals around the bottom, and six on the second layer.

Step 6: Add your candy. These are Chewy SweeTarts, because I like the shape and colors of them. The book suggested licorice pastels, but I think those are yucky, and didn’t want to risk contaminating the lemony deliciousness of my cupcakes.

What do you end up with? This:


I think I prefer the solid color ones, although Aidan was partial to the pink/yellow combination.

Oh, you want to see the cute preschooler?

Yep. That’s one happy camper. Oh, and I very smartly made enough cupcakes for Kelsey’s birthday treat, since her big day is this weekend. They’re sitting safely in the freezer, waiting for her to decide on the style of decorations!

If you liked this, you should definitely check out what I did for Liam’s birthday! Kelsey’s cupcakes last year were a big hit, too, and they’re out of the earlier edition, ‘Hello, Cupcake!

Tagged

22 thoughts on “What’s New, Cupcake?

  1. Gina says:

    SO CUTE!!! Are you going to do some for Maddie's birthday for me? I might just have to take a look at this book when I come up this weekend (or maybe I will just steal this idea).

  2. humel says:

    Gen, these are so beautiful!! I can make delicious cupcakes but I can't make pretty cupcakes. I think I need this book!

  3. Sharla says:

    Wow, very cute! They look simple enough that someone as challenged in the kitchen as I am might even be able to pull them off!

  4. OMG, those are the cutest things!! TFS the book. It would be great for my daughter who is an aspiring baker.

  5. Meghann says:

    Beautiful cupcakes! I have the "Hello Cupcake" book, but not the newest one. Might have to go pick that up!

  6. Gen… They look even better with all the other pictures that you took! Looks so pretty and YUMMY!

  7. Look YUMMY! And ADORABLE!

  8. Thank you for the walk through. I think that even I could make these. They are so pretty.

  9. Helena says:

    What a great idea! There's something about the pointy shapes and the sparkly color that's just appealing. They look so… tactile.

  10. Kim says:

    I made these this afternoon. Super fun and cute.

  11. Colleen says:

    I'm so glad you posted the directions! I saw the pics of those super cute cupcakes on facebook and wondered how the heck you did them!?! I might have to copy them! I love Liam's cake you did! If only I had a pinch of your creativity! :)

  12. Heather says:

    I dont make cakes but they look so cute & delicious I'm almost tempted to start baking!!!

  13. Nicole says:

    Gen, those look so cute! I love them, and I think I just might have to try to make them- although I'm pretty sure mine won't turn out as great at yours. :) I hope you're doing well I haven't seen you in forever!

  14. debs14 says:

    What beautiful cupcakes, I may just have to give these a try!

  15. Lorell says:

    You are so hilarious…sticky innards of a marshmallow…I'll have to remember that one…:DThe cupcakes look so fab, Gen. I was looking at that book in Wal-Mart the other day, and flipped through to see how they did the ducks on the cover. It's seems so easy that even I could do that…LOL! Izzy wants to have a fairy-themed party for her 8th birthday (which isn't until next February), so I bet I could find a cute idea in there to go along with that.Thanks for the inspiration…:D

  16. Those are so cute!! And they seem simple enough for me to even make!!:) I'm gonna have to keep a look out for that book!!!!

  17. Heather T. says:

    Those are amazingly cute and delicious-looking!!!

  18. Tanya says:

    You saved me for my daughter's birthday at school. Her actual birthday is in June but they started celebrating the summer birthdays on Fridays counting back from the week before the last day of school. I didn't know what to do! I ended up making cupcakes (full size) and making 1 little peony style flower with marshmallows per your directions and it was great! I got comments from the grown ups as well as the kids! One little girl said "I wanna marry this cupcake!" Thanks so much for being so inspiring.

  19. Jen says:

    OMG! These are adorable Gennifer! I'm seriously thinking of making these for my daughter's preschool class! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Casey Wright says:

    These look delicious! TFS!

  21. MamaBug says:

    Wow. Super cute!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

