The Laminated List v.2009

We all know what The Laminated List is, right? What? You DON’T watch Friends reruns all the time? Get thee out!

I stumbled across this blog the other day, and thought it would be a fun Friday Free For All. Especially since this Friday Steve is experiencing a major status change. (Who thought Friday the 13th would be a good day for this? Who would so callously schedule surgery on that day? Wait, nevermind.) So, my laminated list is becoming the Possible Fathers of my Future Children, In Case I Decide to go That Route.

Mandy’s Official Rules:

  • All people on the list must be alive. Unless you’ve figured out a way to bring people back from the dead there is absolutely no way that a posthumous selection can be made.
  • No selections can appear in more than one category.
  • “Barely Legal” selections must be between the ages of 18 and 23. Anyone younger is just icky and anyone older no longer fits the category.
  • “Older Men” must be at least 20 years older than you. And I mean to the day.
  • “Token Black Guy” is code for any selection of a race other than your own. And of course, you are not limited to only one person of a different race.
  • “No One Else Gets It” simply means that no one else gets it. It’s that person that you love that when you say their name all your friends look at you like you’re nuts.
  • “First Love” is the first major celebrity crush that you had.
  • “Singing Voice” is reserved for a celebrity that sings in say a movie or a tv show, but generally speaking is not really known for their musical abilities. It’s about the way they sound, not the way they look. Bonus if they look good too.
  • “Speaking Voice” is any celebrity whose voice you love. Again it’s about the voice, not the face.
  • “Animated” is just as it says–a cartoon. Yes, it’s silly, but we’re running with it. And be honest, own up to your true feelings. You know you love animated characters too.
  • “Fictional Character” selections are made based on the character and not anyone portraying them. This choice can come from a movie, TV show, book, etc.
  • The other categories are fairly self-explanatory, but if you’re not sure just ask. Trust me, I’ll give you my opinion.

Without Further Ado, I give you… drum roll… Possible Fathers Of My Future Children, In Case I Decide To Go That Route

1. Ryan Reynolds

DOB: Oct 23, 1976

No one’s surprised here. Most recently in “Definitely, Maybe,” but my favorites by far are “Waiting” and “Blade: Trinity.” They really show his sense of humor, because packed into those amazing abs is a killer comedic timing!

DOB: Apr 26, 1980

From “She’s All That” and “Coach Carter,”
but his dance moves in “Step Up” are amazing.
Lots of movies coming out this year with him.


3. Gerard Butler

DOB: Nov 13, 1969

Ahhh… the Scottish accent. Plus, he can sing. He’s a king with killer abs in “300”, but he’s meltingly good in “P.S. I Love You,” the only thing making the movie watchable. His turn as Dracula puts Robert Pattinson to shame. Edward, who?

4. Taye Diggs

DOB: Jan 2, 1971

Another multi-talented actor, Taye has a long history of theater roles. Part of the Tony-award winning cast of “Rent.” (That means he sings.) And he’s pretty.

5. Ryan Gosling

DOB: Nov 12, 1980

Truly an amazing actor. He’s been a creepy teenager, a socially-inept doll-carrying weirdo, but the best (by far) was “The Notebook.”


6. Barely Legal: Shia LaBeouf
DOB: June 11, 1986

I remember seeing him on DisneyChannel, and thinking he was a Savage brother. Not so much, now. He’s quirky, funny, and cute to boot.

7. Older Man: Ed Harris

DOB: Nov 28, 1950

Have you seen his blue eyes? Watch “The Rock”, when he’s the bad guy who’s not so bad. It also has Nicolas Cage and Sean Connery, so there’s eye candy for all ages. And he’s exactly 27 years older than me… to the day!


8. Bad Boy: Colin Farrell
DOB: May 31, 1976

We’ve all heard the stories about how bad he is. But he’s gorgeous. And Irish. I forgive all.

Check out “American Outlaws” with Gabriel Macht, who would have definitely made the list with him for “hottest historical bad-guy brothers.”

9. Good Guy: Josh Lucas

DOB: June 20, 1971

Truthfully, I don’t know how good he is. But he’s got a southern accent, so he sounds like a polite southern stud.
We’ve all seen “Sweet Home, Alabama” right?


10. Token Black Man: LL Cool J
DOB: Jan 14, 1968

Yummy. Yum Yum Yummy.
And he sings. Well, sorta. He raps.
Yum.


11. Nerd: Justin Long

DOB: June 2, 1978

We’ve all seen the Dell commercials, and he’s kinda dorky looking all the time. He’s very funny in “Waiting,” although he’s probably more memorable just because he costars with Ryan. (You remember, #1!) “He’s Just Not That Into You” was a nice, refreshing look at his quirky, subtle style.

12. Goofball: Paul Rudd

DOB: Apr 6, 1969

Loved him in “Clueless,” but his latest rash of movies by Judd Apatow have really brought him back with a bang. Hilarious in “40-Year-Old Virgin” and “Knocked Up,” and always memorable as Phoebe’s husband on “Friends.”

13. Athlete: David Beckham

DOB: May 2, 1975

Yeah. I’m not really a sports enthusiast, but Beckham would be the one to change my mind. From his odd hairstyles to his painted fingernails, and all the colorful tattoos in between.

14. Musician: Chris Daughtry

DOB: Dec 26, 1979

What’s not to love? He’s coming home!

15. No One Else Gets It: Nicolas Cage

DOB: Jan 7, 1964

Maybe it’s the soulful eyes. Maybe because he reminds me of Steve. Either way, I like it, and no one’s going to change my mind.


16. First Love: Leonardo DiCaprio
DOB: Nov 11, 1974

Ahh, back in the days of “Growing Pains.” Others drooled over Kirk Cameron, but I was all about Leo.

I saw him first.

17. Speaking Voice: Sam Elliot

DOB: Aug 9, 1944

Sam. He’s what’s for dinner.

18. Singing Voice: Hugh Jackman

DOB: Oct 12, 1968

He starred as “Gaston” in the Australian version of
“Beauty and the Beast.”
What was wrong with Belle?
I’d choose him any day.

19. Animated Character: Prince Edward (Enchanted)
Voiced By: James Marsden
DOB: Sept 18, 1973

Probably because I know that he really looks like
<—– this.

20. Fictional Character: Noah Calhoun (The Notebook)

Played by: Ryan Gosling

It wasn’t over. It STILL isn’t over.

21. Action Hero: Will Smith

DOB: Sept 25, 1968

He does them all. He makes us laugh. And sometimes, he takes his shirt off while he saves the world. Sigh.

22. Tough Guy: Jason Statham

DOB: Sept 12, 1972

Surprise, surprise. Another accent.
He can drive me around any day.


23. Tortured Soul: Paul Bettany

DOB: May 27, 1971

I’m not really sure if he is tortured in real life. But he has that half-starved poet thing going on, and I like it. If you missed “Wimbledon”, watch it.

24. Eye Candy: Ryan Phillipe

DOB: Sept 10, 1974

Way too pretty for anything but looking at.


25. But His Face: Vin Diesel

DOB: July 18, 1967

I used to think he was cute all over, until “Find Me Guilty.” He looked freakishly like Pauly Shore.

Now, I’m locking that memory away, never to think of it again!


26. Brainiac: Dean Cain
DOB: July 31, 1966

He went to Princeton. ‘Nuff said.

27. Scruffy: Dane Cook

DOB: Mar 18, 1972

Very funny, with kind-of a dirty guy next door thing going for him. It works.


28. Gay: Nate Berkus
DOB: Sept 17, 1971

Dude. My house would be amazing.

29. Dapper Dan: Jude Law

DOB: Dec 29, 1972

Not too many guys can pull this look off. He does.
Splendidly.


30. Villain: Christian Bale (American Psycho)
DOB: Jan 30, 1974

Seriously disturbing.
I know why the girls went home with him, though.

Kind of interesting stuff: I knew I had a thing for accents, but I didn’t realize how much. Out of my list of 30, I can think of 11 that are foreign-born, and 9 have noticeable accents. A lot of these guys look quite similar, too, so I guess I have “a type”. I do see a similarity to Steve in a lot of them, though, so I guess he’s still at the top of my list.

Now, let’s see yours.


8 thoughts on “The Laminated List v.2009

  1. Katie says:

    Awesome list! So glad my sis and I could inspire you to make it.

  2. Gina says:

    Great list and very fun!

  3. Shia LaBeouf-he is a really good actorEd Harris-always a good choiceJustin LongChris Daughtry-love his voice. His does an awesome version of a third day song.Nicolas Cage- he only gets better with age, always like himSam Elliot-he only gets better with ageWill Smith-even my husband likes him as an actorJason Statham-loved him in the transporter moviesVin Diesel-love love this pick.You are missing…a whole band..Poison. I know what everyone will say but they are very in touch with the world what people go threw in their lives. They take a negative situation and turn it into a positive. You can relate to their music over the years. I definitely dig your list girl!

  4. Nicole says:

    Gen! Loved this post. 🙂 Also, since you’ll probably read this before I talk to you, I went to the drug store today for lunch, and you weren’t there! but then Shantell reminded me why. . . I guess you have a good excuse. I saw your sister there and I started waving like a madwoman cause I thought she was you. (She looked EXACTLY like you, the way her hair was done, and the headband she had in!) anyway, then I realzied it wasn’t you when she gave me the “do i know you?” look. Yeah, i felt stupid. . . Anyway, cute blog post! ha ha.

  5. Mariana says:

    Well, I adored your list, Hugh Jackman has honnors!! (and he doesn`t look like my Cèsar at all..), anyway, in case you still remember the question you made to me, “divertido” means fun, and “guay” comes from the Mexican slang and I think the use for Friend or dude, something like that, I hope I was a help for you..love ya!

  6. sherri says:

    okay I have to say you forgot my current fav, Wentworth Miller. So ignore the whole English aristocrat funny name…..http://lovedandprotected.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/wentworth_miller.jpghope this link works

Leave a Reply

