Cupcakes & Ice Cream & Polka Dots, Oh My!

Well, it’s been a fun and exciting week here! Fun, because the temps are up in the 60’s (and the crappy April snow is quickly melting) and we are enjoying some much-loved sun. Much-loved, because it seems like years since we have seen it. Remind me of this in August. Remind me to call and schedule someone to install an A/C.

Exciting, because any time we do something different, it is exciting. We’re easily amused, here. A/C! Yay!

We had a girls’ night out on Saturday, and Kelsey, Aidan, and I, along with my friend Shantell, headed over to Color Me Mine in Park City. You know, the place where you paint your own pottery, and they fire and glaze it for you. This way, they take your money (and they saw a ridiculous amount of mine… I bet there is a new wing in my honor next time I show up!) and you pretend that you are all crafty and stuff. I’ve always wanted to do this, and was very happy a few months ago to see one opening in Redstone. After my brother Grady told me all about their most recent trip, I couldn’t get it out of my mind. Speaking of my brother, make sure you check out Janie and Grady’s mugs… can you tell who did which one? 🙂

Kelsey and Aidan both made cute little treasure boxes:

Kelsey also did a vase and Aidan did an airplane bank, but that was really unsupervised and not as cute. At my blog, we only show cute things. (And me.)
I painted a set of ice cream bowls, with Shantell’s help:


It was fun, Connor wants to know when it’s his turn, and we may be having an extended family excursion there next week. Yay for us, and easy-peasy crafts.

In other news, I am very, very excited (see notes above) to announce:


Woohoo is definitely right! This is my first creative team spot, and I couldn’t be happier to play around with all of Crystal’s stuff. Well, I already do (see my blog background?) but now I “have to.” Riiight.

Anyway, I’ll probably be doing a few more scrapbooking things here, so if that bores you, I’m sorry. I hope not to scare away any of my 2.3 readers.

4 thoughts on “Cupcakes & Ice Cream & Polka Dots, Oh My!

  1. Congrats to you Gennifer. i am glad you got the spot. i really do want a chance some day to be a guest designer some where. I think I would have a lot of fun. I can’t wait to see your stuff. You are never boring dear. I must be the true nerd/geek of the bunch..b/c I barely get comments expect from you. I got the healthy thing going.

  2. Gina says:

    I want to go back to Color Me Mine, too. I love that place and haven’t been there since Haylee was a baby. We should plan a family day during our campout. Congrats again on being a designer – I expect lots of good ideas and sharing from you!

  3. Colleen says:

    That looks like tons of fun! You all did an awesome job, very cute!! I do like the new look of your blog and congrats, you can always pass on all the good ideas!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Hey Gen I finally checked out your blog it is so cute. I learned something new I didn’t even know about Color Me Mine that is really neat. And a big congrats on your designer job you will do great!!!!! Steph

Leave a Reply

