Poor Me.

I’ve been trying to come up with something fabulous, witty, and above all, interesting to write about for the past week. I’ve got nothing.

So I’m revisiting My Last Public Failure. You know, the ridiculously structured blog schedule that was impossible to follow? Im. Poss. I. Ble. Literally. I didn’t even make it through one week. Pathetic.

So, in honour (I really prefer that spelling. Doesn’t it look fancy?) Like I was saying, in honour of that dismal display, and since today happens to be a Wednesday (which, if you consult the aforementioned post should be Wednesday Vent Day) you get to hear it. My vents. My whines. (Not to be confused with my wines, because that would be completely different!) My overall feelings of imperfection and looming death.

Because… I have wrinkles. I really noticed it when looking super close at a photo of me and a couple of my friends today (Hi, Nicole and Shantell). Did I mention they are 19 and 20, respectively? Yeah, I’m getting old. Old people die. I’m going to die.

Also, I officially win Worst Mother Of The Decade today. In my distractions with everything I’m trying to do, plus serious sleep deprivation (what’s new?) I did The Unforgivable. More accurately, I missed The Unforgivable. Connor’s last day of kindergarten was today, and I forgot to go. I somehow forgot that they give out diplomas. How did I miss this? What kind of mother forgets that? It’s not new. I graduated from kindergarten myself, eleventy-billion years ago. HOW DID I MISS THIS?

I actually cried when I told Steve about it. Hell, I’m crying now!

To make up for it, I scrapped a photo of him in a dress:


Does anyone know how much therapy costs?

8 thoughts on “Poor Me.

  1. Its cheaper to scrapbook. I love this. Okay you are not a bad mother. First of, use outlook for email and organization purposes. I started this week and it really helps. Secondly, you need sleep..a lot of it. Studies have shown sleep deprevation affects ones ability to have a descent memory. No joke..Thirdly, we all have wrinkles. We came out wrinkly..so its all natural or organic to have wrinkles.Fourth, yes, we are going to die. At least your not the mother who passed away yesterday unexpectedly. She was the wife of #60 dbacks pictcher. Her kids found her. So, take care of your body. More on this on my blog!

  2. Nicole says:

    Gen, you just made me laugh- even if that wasn’t your intention. ๐Ÿ™‚ first, i’m so happy my name was metioned on you blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ second, you are not a bad mom, heck, i would love it if you were MY mom. third, i didn’t notice the wrinkles when we were looking at the picture so don’t worry. plus the picture was blown up a thousand times, so the only way anyone would notice them (if in fact what you claim is true) is to look at you with a magnifying glass- which i dare bet noone is going to do in the near future. . .

  3. Colleen says:

    I’m still laughing at that pic!!! HiLaRiOuS!!! I’m so sorry that you missed his kindergarten graduation! Sad!! Um… but you do have how many kids? And are working! And… you get it. I’m sorry. That sucks! Quit looking at the pics so close and then you wont find wrinkles, that’s where you went wrong!

  4. Jen Allyson says:

    Hahaha this is awesome! I also have to say that blogs turn into what they are supposed to be, not necessarily what we plan them to be! And they are all such great sources of our personal histories. I love them!

  5. **MIGNONNE** says:

    I love this post, I love that page and I love your schedule. You crack me up!

  6. Gen, when I read that you were going to die … OMG! Then I read further … wrinkles. *sigh* Yeah, it happens, unfortunately. Now, I’ve got to ask – the page of Connor in the dress – were you trying to punish him for YOU not going to his graduation?! ROFL Hugs.

  7. Gennifer says:

    No, it wasn’t punishment. I just happened to have stayed up late the night before doing the page (the picture is about 3 years old!). I guess it just shows another facet of my amazing mothering skills. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. kipandmindy says:

    Wow, boy does he look life Steve!!

Leave a Reply

