Out of the mouths of babes…

If you were a fly on the wall at my house today, you would be laughing. A lot.

I was getting in the shower this morning, and if you have kids you know that privacy is very rare. Some things become family activities. Like showering. Using the toilet. Anything.

Anyway, Aidan is chattering away about something (because the girl does not stop talking… I wonder where she gets it?) and segued into this:

*For censorship purposes, we will replace the actual word used with the word “ear.” The actual word starts & ends with “b”. Huh. Ironic, considering my blog title, isn’t it?

Mommy, you have big ears.

Mommy, when am I going to have ears?

When I’m a big girl?

I’ll have ears when I’m a mommy?

I’ll have big ears?

We’ll be matching?

Nice… what do you even say to that? No, they won’t be matching, because by that point my ears will be sagging down to my knees. Unless I have really expensive fake ears by then, in which case they will be round and up by my chin somewhere, so they probably won’t match then, either.

Then, there’s the fact that my friend Lorell (Hi, Lorell!) is potty-training this week. I HATE potty training. I hate it so much, that I will take this opportunity to remind you of my very first blog post, a whopping almost-seven months ago.

I spent a few glorious minutes when she talked about it basking in the fact that even though I still have one in diapers, potty-training is not anywhere on the horizon. Yay.

Then, I went to get Liam up from his nap. The little stinker decided to take off his diaper and pee through the crib. A puddle to clean up. A rug to wash. Thanks goodness for laminate, right?

It’s a good thing he’s so cute:

3 thoughts on “Out of the mouths of babes…

  1. Haylee says:

    That sounds like something my brothers would do.

  2. Colleen says:

    I love that you picked “ear”. I was laughing the whole time I was reading… only because I know it won’t be too long before I’m right in your shoes!! 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Oooh, I’m not a fan of naptime pee/poop shenanigans. Brings back memories I’ve tried very hard to repress.

Leave a Reply

