Give me a *W*…

for winner! I know that you all must be on the edge of your seats, but I’m going to take advantage of my captive audience and ramble a bit first. And pretend that I don’t realize that you can scroll right down to the bottom of the post if you find me boring.

First of all, I must say that I LOVED reading about everyone’s ancestors. Now I wish I knew more about all of them, too.

I was kind of hoping that someone would have a bad story in there, someone they wished they knew less about, but no one did. So I’ll share one of mine!

To start, I must get you in the right time frame. My father was born when his father was not so young. (That’s polite talk for super old.) In his 60’s, but I’m not exactly sure when. Old enough that I don’t want to think about him doing whatever resulted in my dad being born to a sixty-something-year-old man.

So, when Grandpa was a feisty young kid, instead of a feisty sixty-something-year-old man, HIS dad was a super-feisty abusive drunk. Or so family lore goes. I didn’t know him personally, of course, since this took place over 100 years ago.

Long story short, my grandpa’s older brother shot and killed their dad. He went to trial, but was judged not guilty, because it was considered in defense of others. Or something like that.

I know there’s more detail to the story, but since it’s about 11 PM here, I don’t think my dad (Family-Historian-Who-Knows-All) would appreciate a phone call. [Plus, this way, one of my all-knowing sisters can jump in during the comments and correct anything I got wrong.]

Pretty… er… interesting, right? A murder. Patricide. One of those should-be-made-into-a-movie tales where the good guy takes care of the bad guy, and gets to go free. I prefer to think that only the good guy genes survived the last 100 years, and not the bad-guy genes. Right? Right.

Anyway, on to our winner.
I went to random (dot) org, and used their handy generator:
And the winning comment is here:

By AlohaAroha. YAY!

For anyone who entered my giveaway and did not win, I have a little surprise for you. If you really, really want a tree, you can visit my Etsy shop. Between now and August 15, any of you can order the 8×10 family tree, and I will upgrade it to the 11×14 for free.

This giveaway thing was pretty fun. I’m definitely going to have to do it again. Thanks to everyone who participated!

3 thoughts on “Give me a *W*…

  1. Congrats to the winner!! Hay Gen there are some interesting stories or legends about my dad's side and my mom's side of the family. Then there are the truths that I know that are not so pleasant nor do I wish to relieve them publicly at this moment. Unfortunately, my family history seems to be more dysfunctional than functional.

  2. Lorell says:

    Wow…that is some story about your dad…it can get interesting when you open the closets and rattle out all the family skeletons! If it makes you feel any better, I have some drunks in my family tree, too…:P

  3. AlohaAroha says:

    Stopping by to post a late "Yay" and do a happy dance – especially now that I have seen the first proof and it is sooooooo gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

