17, AGAIN?

No, this is not a post about Zac Efron. Or Taylor Lautner, although he’s a smokin’ 17, for sure. (According to my daughter, of course. I would never say something like that. It’s just wrong.)

It’s a post about me. When I was 17. So it’s almost like I’m 17 again. Clever, huh? I turned 17 in late November of my Senior Year. (Yes, I was young.)

So, here’s a peek into my life, as it was in November 1994:

My hair colour is: reddish-brown, but I’m thinking of dyeing it black in the near future.
My hair style is: just like everyone else’s. Front/sides pulled back most days, and curly.
My favourite brand of makeup is: Cover Girl, I’m sure.
My “fashionable” item is: my Chuck’s. I rock them.
My favourite outfit is: an oversized rugby (is there any other size shirt?) and my Girbauds.
My favourite colour is: pink.
I drive a: very large brown van. With a bed in the back. It’s handy for carting around lots of Freshman, who contribute kindly to my gas fund. Occasinally, I head out in the green HMD. THAT’S RIGHT!
On a Saturday I go: to work. Right now it’s at the outlet mall in Park City, selling expensive sunglasses.
On a Saturday night I go: out with my friends. We usually just hang out at someone’s house.
On a Sunday I go: to church. ‘Nuff said.
Monday-Friday I go: to school (ish). At this point, I’m still going pretty regularly, but that would change soon enough.
My best friend(s) is/are: Chauma and Tami. But it’s a very close second to my girl “group” which includes Deborah, Munda, Molly, and Michelle.
My favourite place to go out is: anyplace in Park City.
My favourite subject at school is: art or photography.
When I grow up I want to be: a hairstylist.
My favourite drink is: Mountain Dew.
My favourite food is: anything loaded with sugar.
My favourite shop is: Old Navy.
I want to marry: someone tall, dark, and handsome.
My favourite actor/actress is: Keanu Reeves.
My favourite band is: Green Day.
My favourite TV programme is: Friends.
The one thing I want to do but can’t is: graduate. Enough, already!
My most used mode of transport is: Tami’s car. We have to ‘Dukes of Hazard’ in to it, since the passenger door is broken, but she drives us almost everywhere.
If I had all the money in the world I would: travel. A lot.
I wish I could visit: Australia.
My favourite sport is: swimming.
This fall I: have no idea what I’m going to do.
At Halloween I dressed up as: nothing. I think I’m too cool for that.
I recently saw: ‘Speed’ and thought it was: amazing. Keanu Reeves is so hot.
I am reading: a trashy Harlequin romance.


Pretty fun, right? It’s funny, some things are basically the same, and some are completely opposite. You can follow the ’17 again’ blog train over to my friend Mel, who was 17 in 1991. She’s a funny gal, you’ll enjoy the ride, I’m sure!

18 thoughts on “17, AGAIN?

  1. Liberty :) says:

    The picture is AMAZING!!!! Can't wait to see your layout! X

  2. Great post, and that picture looks like it came right out of a sitcom! Thanks for sharing,Rinda

  3. Heather says:

    Hehe, great reflection back to years gone… you did much better than I could at answering questions about when I was 17.

  4. Nadine says:

    I've got to agree with rinda. it'slike watching full house or something (:I love art back in elementry (:

  5. Jools says:

    LOVE the photo. Very cute! And yes, looks like something out a sitcom.

  6. Sian says:

    Cute photo indeed! Funny how it all starts to come flooding back. Great answers.

  7. Great post and photo, got me thinking about when I was 17, I think I rocked the same hairstyle for at least part of the year. Did you ever dye your hair black?

  8. Jay says:

    Great blog post. Love the photo. Off back on the train now.

  9. humel says:

    Great pic, great post – can't wait to see your layout! xxPS I have to know. Which bits are different and which bits the same? The van? The Dukes of Hazard move?

  10. Becky says:

    Love the picture! Thanks for sharing your 17th year 🙂

  11. OMG, I remember Mountain Dew when it came out in the UK, I used to love it, I wonder where it went.

  12. Colleen says:

    Love that pic, seriously! I remember thinking the same thing about speed and Keanu Reeves! Fun times!

  13. Sara says:

    Great picture Gennifer, loved reading your post.

  14. Beverly says:

    I thought the same thing about the photo, it could be a promo shot for Facts of Life 🙂 My boyfriend at 17 ('76) was addicted to Mountain Dew and my dh drinks it every morning now to ward off migrianes (very high caffeine content)

  15. debs14 says:

    Love the photo! This is a great project isn't it? I'm loving reading all the posts, although I do seem to be the oldest blogger so far 😦

  16. amazing picture..please don't dye your hair its a beautiful color. Mine suck…come see my reveal day…for my big project

  17. Jansen Tribe says:

    you are so lying when On a Saturday night I go: out with my friends. We usually just hang out at someone's house. ha ha ha ha isn't that what you told your parents…ha ha ha when in fact we would go out to a club! ahhh to be 17 again!

  18. ceruleanblue says:

    Lovin' the Dukes of Hazzard move lol!! And your photo is ace!

Leave a Reply

