It’s the end of an era…

I know, you think I’m talking about 2009, right?

Wrong.

I mean, technically, today IS the last day of the year. And, technically, tomorrow is the first day of next year. But that’s just coincidence. What I’m really talking about is the end of my days as a Garden Girl at Two Peas in a Bucket.

I know. I certainly didn’t anticipate this. Heck, I didn’t anticipate ever BEING a Garden Girl, let alone walking away from it, especially after four short months.

And it was hard. 2Peas has been my internet home for… well, ever. It’s been my home page on my browser. My news source. My entertainment. And if you think that a scrapbooking board is just about scrapbooking, well, you’ve never visited the NSBR. It’s a world of it’s own, where I have learned many wondrous and amazing things.

2Peas is also the place where I started my digital journey. Less than one year ago, I decided to take the plunge. I’d had PSE5 for a couple of years, but hadn’t done more than load it on my computer. Without further ado, I give you…My Very First Layout, 1/7/09:


I know. That’s a photo of my daughter’s booty. I’m a mom, what can I say? Aside from the poor color in the photo, I still really like it. I used a template by The Queen of Quirk, and I’ve used it many times since. I love it.

A few short months went by, and I was offered my first Creative Team position, with Crystal Wilkerson, in April. As the year went on, I was on the creative teams of some other amazing 2Peas designers: Kate Teague, The Queen of Quirk, and Jen Allyson, plus a stint as a guest DT member for Erica Hernandez and a chance to work with the amazing charity site, Songbird Avenue.

And then came August, and the offer to become a Garden Girl. I loved it, every minute of it, but had to give up my affiliations with other websites. And it was worth it, for a while. But, eventually, it seemed like I was only scrapping for deadlines, and not for enjoyment. My beloved hobby became my job.

So, eventually, I had to look at what made me happiest as a person. And I’m happy to say, that I’m pretty sure I have found it.

I’ll be working with some dear friends at a new site called Design House Digital, which launches tomorrow. It’s a site focused on digital scrapbooking, with some of the very best designers in the industry.


So, it’s been quite a journey. Along the way I’ve made countless friends, learned countless techniques, and made countless pages. One year ago, I would NEVER have expected this. As for the future? Well, who knows what the next year will bring? I can’t wait to see!

11 thoughts on “It’s the end of an era…

  1. jen allyson says:

    It's so hard to believe that you've been doing this such a short time (and that we've known each other for such a short time). You have such an eye for design and a talent for storytelling. I love two peas too, and always will, but I'm also really excited for this new journey! And I'm especially excited because you are coming along! Best of luck girly, but I don't think you need luck, you're a star already!love you lots,Jen Allyson

  2. I kinda figured that is where all the Jen's had taken off too. I figured I would wait until you confirmed it my dear. Congrats. Keep in touch. Oh keep an eye out in the gallery at 2peas. Your font will be featured in my january album.

  3. Colleen says:

    I never would have guessed it, either! That was short, but what makes you and your life more pleasant is where it's at! Good luck with Design House Digital!

  4. katieFLapple says:

    Congratulations on your new endeavor Gennifer! I know you will be a success!

  5. Katherine B says:

    I really LOVED reading this, Gen . . . and the layout . . . FANTASTIC! I'm really glad you decided to go with Jen to DHD! It certainly wouldn't have been the same if you weren't there!

  6. Change is hard but moving forward is exciting. Congrats on the new project!

  7. Lorell says:

    I'm glad you are following your bliss, Gen! I know you will many very cool scrapping things in 2010. πŸ™‚

  8. Mary says:

    Now that you're no longer a Garden Girl, can you spill on all the good 2peas dirt???! I'll be checking back often for all the juicy details. πŸ˜‰

  9. Deanna says:

    I'm definitely going to miss one of my favorite Garden Girls!! I can see that the restrictions put on them, though, could be sad in ways. I participate at several sites, and would feel put upon if someone told me I could only be at one of them. Good luck to you dear! And I hope you peek in at two peas for old time sake!! We all love you there.

  10. humel says:

    I can't wait to see what you do either :-)Wishing you all the best through 2010! xx

  11. MamaBug says:

    I'm way excited for you Gen!! DHD is going to be a very good thing. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

