Wow.

It’s been a long week. For sure.

Sadly, my favorite father-in-law passed away on Monday, February 1st. It was very unexpected, and we’re still trying to adjust. Dave had an amazing sense of humor, was the kindest person I know, and could do a Donald Duck voice that rivaled Donald himself. Of the many things he accomplished in his life, the thing I am most grateful for is the amazing man he raised to be my husband. Because Dave had no concept of ‘men’s work’ vs. ‘women’s work’, Steve has no problem working around the house. Because Dave had a strong work ethic, so does Steve. And Dave definitely instilled a deep sense of loyalty and a strong sense of responsibility in my husband. Thanks, Dave, from the bottom of my heart. Love you.

On top of that, Steve had some pretty extensive surgery done on his wrist on Tuesday. Remember this post, way back in June, where I talked about it? Yeah. After months of pressure from me, he finally went to the doctor. He felt pretty lame, because for the most part, he had no pain. They sent him over for an MRI, and he didn’t think they’d find anything. Not so.

Of course, he thought the surgery wouldn’t be too bad. I tried to explain to him that if they were keeping him home, from a DESK JOB, for three weeks, it probably would not be a walk in the park.

It’s not. Particularly for me. Steve is not a sit-around-and-rest kinda guy. He’s a ‘is-this-what-you-do-all-day’ kinda guy, asked while hovering over my shoulder. It’s really cutting into my computer time. And my napping time. I don’t think I’ve ever been so tempted to slip someone an extra Percocet before.

Kidding.

Sort of.

Now, I gotta go bake some cupcakes for Connor’s birthday tomorrow. Or maybe I’ll just run by the grocery store… I didn’t get a nap today, after all.

12 thoughts on “Wow.

  1. MamaBug says:

    I'm so sorry to hear about your father-in-law. I can't imagine how hard it will be when mine passes away. He's definitely one of my favorite people.Good luck with having your hubby home. Nothing throws of my daily routine more than having my wonderful hubby about. πŸ˜‰

  2. wholarmor says:

    Sorry to hear about your father-in-law! Glad you had such a good relationship with him. I'll probably be sad when my father-in-law dies, but unfortunately, we don't have a lot of contact with him. My grandma passed away the other day. I understand how hard it is to lose someone you love.Take care!

  3. humel says:

    Oh honey, so sorry to hear of your loss – I'll pray for you and your family xxAnd I hope your husband recovers and returns to work as soon as possible, for both your sakes!

  4. Hugs, hugs, hugs, and more hugs..great idea to keep hubby busy..have him help you create a memory book about his dad. No joke. Get him to pick out some pictures of his dad either by himself or with family members. Make a memory album. Better yet, spend some quality time with him and snuggle if you can. Sleep would help his body heal too!

  5. Lorell says:

    Sorry that you've been through such a rough patch!! I hope the next little while at the Bursett house is low key.

  6. Sorry that things have been rough for you guys. I hope hubby feels better soon.

  7. Colleen says:

    I'm glad last week is over for sure! Lucky for me Tom gets to be home with Alli 1 or 2 days a week while I'm at work. He thinks he's going to get so much done…. and never does. Love that he can't give me crap because sometimes he takes a nap too! πŸ™‚ Hope you get some naps while he's at home! BTW, there's nothing wrong with an extra percocet every now and then. πŸ™‚

  8. Jen Martakis says:

    I'm so sorry for your loss Gen. :(I hope Steve heals quickly….for him and for you. πŸ˜‰

  9. Katherine says:

    Gen, hope everyone is starting to heal – emotionally and physically. I agree with Sam, we need to find something for Steve to do, to keep him occupied! LOL I know how much your nap time means … can't have you missing that – I mean, if you don't nap, how can you stay online at FB 'til all hours of the morning?! ROFL Sending hugs your way.

  10. I am sorry for your loss. Hang in there. Time will make it a bit better.

  11. Mindy Hanson says:

    My sympathies Gennifer to you and your family. Such a hard thing about life, death. Hugs.

  12. Liberty :) says:

    so sorry to hear this news 😦 I always think the harder it hurts when they die, the more you must have loved them. chin up πŸ™‚ X

Leave a Reply

