Just a hint…

Sometimes, it’s the little things that make or break a page, and so, today, I’m going to share one little hint with you that will help your digital pages have a touch more realism.

(And, yeah, I realize that sometimes the best thing about digi is the lack of boundaries; if you dream it, you can do it, blah, blah, blah. I’m talking about when you want your layout to look more real.)

I’ve been doing a lot with templates lately, and I’m especially loving Tiffany Tillman’s tear templates. (Whew! Say that five times fast!)
Tears Set 2 is being used quite a bit, and with that rolled edge, it’s super fun to add some punch to your pages! The template comes with directions, but the basic gist of it is, you add your paper (or fill a new level with a solid color) and then clip it to the template.
Pretty easy, right? And most of the time, that’s all it takes.

However (you knew I was going to say that, right?), sometimes, particularly with strong, graphic patterns, it’s a bit too obvious. Like in this layout:
With such a strong red and white striped paper, when I clip it on, the stripes stay perfectly vertical. If I had torn and rolled this with real paper, they wouldn’t be.

So, here’s how you fix it. Take your lasso tool, and select small sections of the red striped paper. You don’t need to be too precise, since we’ll be fudging them a little. Layer via cut, and then rotate that section slightly. Paying attention to the shape of the tear will help you know which way to rotate, but, really, it only takes a small turn. Continue on, using as man (or as few) sections as you need. I used six here… can you spy them all?
I also did this with the star paper tear, and my small striped tear in the corner. Once I started, it only added a few minutes, and I think it was well worth it.

What do you do to finish off your projects?

4 thoughts on “Just a hint…

  1. humel says:

    Fab, thank you! I'm just getting into digi at the moment so this was the perfect moment to share your tips… And it's always the perfect moment to share a gorgeous layout xx

  2. Mary says:

    VERY cute layouts, Gennifer!

  3. Casey Wright says:

    This is a GREAT tip! I've seen this on a few digital pages and have been wondering how to do it! Love your pages and thanks for sharing such great info 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

