Organization, anyone?

I know I mentioned earlier that I’m really trying to get organized. Along with the chore charts for both me and the kids (which have been a pretty big success, I might add) I’ve been working on organizing bits and pieces of our house.

Because, sadly, 6 people have a lot of stuff. And a lot of stuff in a 1500 square foot house? Not so good.

One of the things I’ve been working on is my photo organization. Namely, my backup disks, since I have a ridiculous amount of digital photos. Ridiculous.

And, up until now, they’ve been floating all around the house. Mixed in with CDs? Yes. A few scattered around the desk? Uh huh. How about in my scrapbooking supplies? Oh, yeah. And let’s not forget the random stragglers that end up in the oddest places, like my bathroom. I don’t know, either.

So, I’m posing a question for you: How do you organize disks of photos? Are they organized by date only? Do you have events labeled, also? Subjects? Do you keep your favorites on a separate disk? Help me out, please!

6 thoughts on “Organization, anyone?

  1. Katie says:

    I'm having the same issue right now too. I don't know what to do so I don't do anything. Nice, huh? So good luck to you!

  2. humel says:

    Um. I don't have any discs? But I have backed up my photos, I hasten to add! They're on a combination of hard drives and an online backing up service. So I guess the only thing I can offer is that when I organise my photos into folders I have categories (holidays, family, day trips) and within those I had sub-folders organised by occasion and date. I have no idea if that helps though, sorry 🙂 Good luck! xx

  3. Anonymous says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  4. I;m in a similar boat. Expect I started altering used food boxes minus the food and labeling what is in them. Its helped some what. For really big items, recycle boxes from larger items that won't need returning. You can use your circut or die cut machine tomake your own labels or letters of labeling.

  5. Kristine says:

    The big key is to keep everything in one place while collecting them. I save all of my camera photos in one place in my computer like (C;/My Photos/ date mo. & yr.) on my computers hard drive. Then I have one external 500GB hard drive that I copy them to right when they are downloaded to my computer hard drive. I also have back up DVD's for triplicate back up. I reuse the containers that our DVD's come in originally (the two piece plastic round things) where I keep them in there labeled and take them to a family members home or store them in a fire box. So that is how I handle camera photos. Now I am new to digital scrapbooking and wanted to be sure I started out so I could maintain order and not create duplication. So what I decided to do is store my digital image files by designer in the same folder at all times on my computer's hard drive. (C:/My Digital Downloads disk 1/ Designer name/and Kit name under each designer). When I decide to back up the files I write the DVD and label them like this: 1a A-G date1b H-L date1c L-N date1d N-Z dateor how ever many you need all the way up to disc 1 Z if you need to? The A-G or N-Z is to help you identify the designer you are looking for. From here I do not put any more files in the folder these digital files came from on my hard drive. I create a new file (C:/My Digital Downloads disk 2/) and then fill it up again with (Designer names/ Kit names,TOU's and more) starting all over again. Once I finish copying the DVD's I leave my Digital Download Files disk 1 on my your hard drive or if I am low on hard drive space I can delete them relying only on the back up DVD's. The DVD's store very nicely in the large soft bound cases that are sold for storing CD's or DVD's in our cars and homes. They are fairly inexpensive and come in many sizes and colors. My case has ten DVD's so far with Disk's 1a through 1d and Disk 2a through 2f. I hope this helps you some. It isn't an easy job, but it isn't hard either and so nice when you put the effort on the front end and not wait until you make yourself crazy later! I love that people print out the pages of all of their images that they collect and store them in a notebook but I wouldn't ever have any ink in my printer if I did that! Good Luck, I love the work you do! Sorry for the book I wrote you!P.S. I am in need of a recommendation for a reliable photo organizer program that isn't impossible like my PSE 7 organizer. It is so slow I hate to even open it! Does anyone have any suggestions?

  6. Anonymous says:

    Wow……great topic. I just found your blog today and am happy I did. 🙂 You have reminded me that I have been LAZY in recent months and seriously need to do some back ups! YIKES.I need to get not only digi-photos organized, but now that I'm entering the world of digi-scrapping, I really need a way to organize all those files too. I was thinking of doing it by color or maybe even theme, but am not sure how to go about it right now.I guess the photos will come first.good luck w/your organizing. Be sure to share with us what you end up doing! Thanks(Ok, having a prob w/google and can't sign in to it. Grrrr! So, I'm AZNEWMOM@yahoo.com)

Leave a Reply

