Some Before & Durings, AKA: Why I Haven’t Been Blogging Lately

I know. Pathetic, really.

But, we’ve been repainting our house, and doing a bit of light renovating, so here’s an update on the not-so-finished product. But, first, here’s some before photos:


And here’s the status quo:


I took these photos last week for an online thread about mixing wood finishes (which I obviously have no problem with), hence, the odd commentary on the photos. Also, I’m not a devil-worshiper, I just like Halloween.

There are still some things that need to be done, obviously… but I love the look so far! It’s a neutral, classic look, but still not builder’s beige. I love the way the fireplace upper turned out, and can’t wait to finalize our tile choice and get it finished. Short of buying new furniture (yes, please!) it’s a pretty dramatic change for only a couple hundred dollars!

(Oh, and I didn’t get the beadboard painted and trimmed ‘today,’ like it said I would on the photo. Anyone surprised?)

4 thoughts on “Some Before & Durings, AKA: Why I Haven’t Been Blogging Lately

  1. Colleen says:

    I like it!!! Looks like way too much work! 🙂

  2. Katherine says:

    Look great! You got tired of purple? Love the change of the tv above the fireplace.

  3. humel says:

    Ah, they're a commentary? I thought maybe you'd stuck huge decals all over your walls and furniture – thought it was an odd choice… 😉

  4. 1. looks great Gen. 2. who ever said you were a devil's worshipper needs knot knocked on their head. 3. Reemail me ur email address. heckhum..dh didn't get all my contacts reloaded into the new outlook.

Leave a Reply

