A Hybrid Card for Mother’s Day

Hello!

It’s Laura O’Donnell up on the blog today.  I made a hybrid card with a few of Gen’s recent kits, the Watercolor Journaling Cards and Miss Molly Elements, and I’ve got a few tips to share on making hybrid projects look their best.

genbmothersday

Here is the finished card.  The colors in these kits are so pretty I thought they’d make a nice Mother’s Day card.

What printer and what paper?

I get asked this the most.  The printer I have is an Epson Artisan 725.  It’s nothing fancy, but it does a pretty good job.  My whole family uses it and it does everything we need it to do from printing Mapquests to school assignments, making copies,  to my stuff which is the hybrid prints for my cards and Project Life and photo printing.  The one problem I have with this printer is that the paper tray is on the bottom.  Paper goes in from the front, does a loop, and comes back out the front.  Because of this the printer is very finickey and won’t accept any paper that is heavyweight or textured or with even the tiniest corner wrinkle.  What I have pictured below, the Epson Premium Matte Presentation Paper, prints beautifully and most importantly goes through the printer.

genbmothersday2

What printer setting?  For hybrid stuff I set it at normal photo quality, not best quality.  These papers and elements don’t have the kind of detail as a photo.  Normal looks good to me and makes the ink tanks last a bit longer.

genbmothersday3

Something I’ve been doing a lot lately is resizing 3″ x 4″ digital journaling cards to fit the front of a standard A2 sized card (4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″).  I picked this pretty journaling card from the Watercolor kit with the green swoosh.  Since the Presentation Paper is too thin to be a card base I will just adhere it to the front of the white card sitting next to it made from 80 lb cardstock.  I also printed out the triangle heart from Miss Molly and one of the labels with a computer generated sentiment using the Remington Noiseless font.  Then I’ve got some paper supplies.  Washi tape, which I think most of us have 🙂 and these butterflies which are the Recollections brand sold at Michaels.

genbmothersday

And here is the finished card again.  I distressed the edges of the heart and label.  There are papercrafting tools for distressing but I just use my thumbnail.  And the dimensional adhesive I used under the heart is Scotch Foam Mounting Tape.

I know Mother’s Day is still 2 months away but keep this card in mind in case it sneaks up on you and you need to get a card made at the last minute 🙂

Thanks for visiting.

One thought on “A Hybrid Card for Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

